DIU LibGuides: Copyright Resources for Faculty & Students_UPDATED: Public Domain

Tools to Help Identify Whether a Work is in the Public Domain

links to the listed tools are located directly beneath the figure

Links to Listed Tools

Public Domain Slider
Select a publication date on the digital slider and determine an item's copyright status. (American Library Association, Office for Information Technology Policy).
Copyright Term & Public Domain Chart
Detailed information on copyright status of works published, including sound recordings and architectural works (Cornell University).
Copyright Renewal Database
Provided by Stanford Libraries, this database allows researchers to obtain U.S. copyright renewal information for books published between 1924 and 1963.
Orphan Works: Statement of Best Practices
Orphan works are materials for which a copyright owner cannot be easily identified. Society of American Archivists' guidelines on how to identify and locate copyright owners.

What is Public Domain?

What Is Public Domain?

"The public domain is not a place. A work of authorship is in the 'public domain' if it is no longer under copyright protection or if it failed to meet the requirements for copyright protection. Works in the public domain may be used freely without the permission of the former copyright owner." (U.S. Copyright Office definition - "Where is the Public Domain" )

Locating Images in the Public Domain

Creative Commons
Use this link to search for open access images in the Creative Commons.
Wikipedia Public Domain Image Sources
Wikipedia maintains lists for public domain resources organized by the following the catagories: general, governmental, and subject-based. All resources should carry a clear mark indicating 'public domain' status.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress contains a vast collection of digital items. This link provides access to their 'free to use and re-use site', however additional resources are available on their digital collection site. Rights statements located on each resource contained in the complete digital collection explain conditions for use. All items posted on the 'free to use' site are open for use.
Smithsonian Collection Images
The Smithsonian open access site contains 2.8 million collection images available for use without copyright restriction.

Locating Books in the Public Domain

Project Gutenberg
Includes more than 60,000 free e-books that can be read online or downloaded onto a portable device.
Google Books
Search for a title in the Google Books 'free book' collection.