Accessing the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) from the Library's A-Z List of Resources is the best way to ensure that you have full access to the latest edition of this invaluable resource! Either use the link provided in the CMOS Online box on this page, or go to the A-Z List and find the resource alphabetized under 'C".
Use this link to go to the CMOS video tutorials page.
CMOS resources for students online include: formatting tips, citations help, Chicago style basics, and more!
The online version of the manual of style includes recent questions by users on the CMOS Questions and Answers page.
DIU uses the author-date version of CMOS rather than the notes and bibliography version. For a brief overview of the two Chicago styles, use the information on the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide page!
Use this link to access the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style online via the DIU Library.
There are previous editions of the Chicago manual of Style in the DIU Library, from 1982 through 2010. They can be found in both the Reference section and the regular stacks. The two most recent are shown here, the rest can be found on the shelves next to the ones below. DIU utilized the 17th edition, which we offer online.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition by
**The 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been superseded by the 17th edition.** While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th Edition by
The Fifteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription Website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. In the 1890s, a proofreader at the University of Chicago Press prepared a single sheet of typographic fundamentals intended as a guide for the University community. That sheet grew into a pamphlet, and the pamphlet grew into a book--the first edition of the Manual of Style, published in 1906. Now in its fifteenth edition, The Chicago Manual of Style--the essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field--is more comprehensive and easier to use than ever before. Those who work with words know how dramatically publishing has changed in the past decade, with technology now informing and influencing every stage of the writing and publishing process. In creating the fifteenth edition of the Manual, Chicago''s renowned editorial staff drew on direct experience of these changes, as well as on the recommendations of the Manual''s first advisory board, composed of a distinguished group of scholars, authors, and professionals from a wide range of publishing and business environments. Every aspect of coverage has been examined and brought up to date--from publishing formats to editorial style and method, from documentation of electronic sources to book design and production, and everything in between. In addition to books, the Manual now also treats journals and electronic publications. All chapters are written for the electronic age, with advice on how to prepare and edit manuscripts online, handle copyright and permissions issues raised by technology, use new methods of preparing mathematical copy, and cite electronic and online sources. A new chapter covers American English grammar and usage, outlining the grammatical structure of English, showing how to put words and phrases together to achieve clarity, and identifying common errors. The two chapters on documentation have been reorganized and updated: the first now describes the two main systems preferred by Chicago, and the second discusses specific elements and subject matter, with examples of both systems. Coverage of design and manufacturing has been streamlined to reflect what writers and editors need to know about current procedures. And, to make it easier to search for information, each numbered paragraph throughout the Manual is now introduced by a descriptive heading. Clear, concise, and replete with commonsense advice, The Chicago Manual of Style, fifteenth edition, offers the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice while including a wealth of new topics and updated perspectives. For anyone who works with words, whether on a page or computer screen, this continues to be the one reference book you simply must have. What''s new in the Fifteenth Edition: * Updated material throughout to reflect current style, technology, and professional practice * Scope expanded to include journals and electronic publications * Comprehensive new chapter on American English grammar and usage by Bryan A. Garner (author of A Dictionary of Modern American Usage) * Updated and rewritten chapter on preparing mathematical copy * Reorganized and updated chapters on documentation, including guidance on citing electronic sources * Streamlined coverage of current design and production processes, with a glossary of key terms * Descriptive headings on all numbered paragraphs for ease of reference * New diagrams of the editing and production processes for both books and journals, keyed to chapter discussions * New, expanded Web site with special tools and features for Manual users at www.chicagomanualofstyle.org.
