Interesting Books to Browse in the DIU Library
Art
100 of the World's Most Beautiful Paintings
"100 of the most beautiful paintings by 100 of the greatest painters...Each full color masterpiece has been accompanied by an explanation of the painting and information about the artist...It is the purpose of this collection to give you a brief history of art from the Early Renaissance to the present and to give you a "grand tour" of the greatest art galleries in the world." -- back cover.
Call Number: Oversize 708 058 1966
Publication Date: 1966
Art That Changed the World by DK
Get ready to embark on a unique guided tour throughout the history of art. Get to know more than 700 of the greatest artists, from Michelangelo and Monet to Damien Hirst and Picasso. Discover 2,500 of the world’s most iconic paintings, sculptures and other artwork that has shaken the art world through centuries and across continents.
Truly comprehensive in scope, Art That Changed the World presents the most remarkable art movements throughout history in chronological order and explains the social and cultural background of each period. Turning-point paintings that triggered or epitomised each artistic movement are identified and explained, against a backdrop of influences — from admired techniques of an earlier artist to the changes in society that enabled new directions in art.
Call Number: OVERSIZE 709 A784c 2013
ISBN: 9781465414359
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
Ethiopian Church Art by Raymond Silverman; Neal Sobania
"Ethiopian Church Art is the first book to examine the magnificent paintings of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church through the eyes of the individuals who make, commission, and sell them. It explores the social and cultural contexts in which religious paintings are created and used in Ethiopia by immersing the reader in the lives and work of painters, patrons, and purveyors of paintings that are found not only in today's churches but also souvenir shops. Devotional imagery has played a vital role in sustaining the spiritual well-being of Ethiopians for over fifteen hundred years. Accessible as illuminated manuscripts, wood panel icons, and on the walls of churches, narrative paintings have served as a vehicle for passing the core beliefs of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church from one generation to the next. They also have offered the faithful a tangible means for seeking spiritual intercession. Though its origins may be traced to Byzantine and Early Christian visual practice, it is a dynamic tradition that is uniquely Ethiopian, a tradition that continues to evolve as an expression of piety and, since the early twentieth century, as a source of artifacts for global souvenir and art markets. Ethiopian Church Art is a groundbreaking ethnography based on twenty-five years of research in the northern Ethiopian city at Aksum and in Addis Ababa working with over two hundred individuals. Sumptuously illustrated, Ethiopian Church Aft has been designed to engage and inform the ready both visually and textually." -- inside front cover.
Call Number: OVERSIZE 709.63 S587e 2022
ISBN: 9781599072913
Publication Date: 2022-09-11
Living with Art by Rita Gilbert; Mark Getlein
Not only a book about art, but also an artfully made book, it has earned a reptuation for elegance and the highest standards of quality. The text supports student efforts to develop an appreciation of art by clearly communicating the ways one can approach various forms of expression, offering a comprehensive introduction to the visual arts from several themes and purposes of art; the vocabulary of art; individual art media (painting, drawing, camera arts, sculpture, architecture, etc.); and the chronological history of art. The book is rich with illustrations drawn from a wide range of artistic cultures and time periods. The book is written in a warm, engaging style that one reviewer has characterized as "information being communicated by real flesh and blood, by someone who is a scholar but also has a sincere love of art".
Call Number: 709 G465L 2002
ISBN: 0072859342
The Metropolitan Museum of Art by Kathryn Calley Galitz (Text by); Thomas P. Campbell (Foreword by)
In line with best-selling The Louvre: All the Paintings (Bookscan 40,000), and Rizzoli's successful The Hermitage Collections and The Barnes Foundation: Masterworks, this title offers an exquisite tour, unique in its lavish illustration, scholarship, extent, and graceful packaging. This volume is the first large survey published in 30 years, and is the first large general survey of the Met's paintings collection. This monumental volume celebrates the greatest and most iconic paintings from the encyclopedic collections of The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, one of the largest, most important, and most beloved museums in the world.
Call Number: Oversize 708.1471 G156m 2016
ISBN: 9780847846597
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Three Thousand Years of Chinese Painting by Nie Chongzheng; James Cahill; Lang Shaojun; Hung Wu; Richard Barnhart; Yang Xin
From Neolithic painted petroglyphs, early paintings on silk, and landscapes by twelfth-century literati to the traditional handscrolls being produced today, Chinese painting has always had the power to enthrall. This magnificent book, written by a team of eminent international scholars, is the first to recount the history of Chinese painting over a span of some three thousand years. Drawing on museum collections, archives, and archaeological sites in China--including many resources never before available to Western scholars--as well as on collections in other countries, the authors present and analyze the very best examples of Chinese painting: more than 300 of them are reproduced here in color. Both accessible to the general reader and revelatory for the scholar, the book provides the most up-to-date and detailed history of China's pictorial art available today. In this book the authors rewrite the history of Chinese art wherever it is found--in caves, temples, or museum collections. They begin by grounding the Western reader in Chinese traditions and practices, showing in essence how to look at a Chinese painting. They then shed light on such topics as the development of classical and narrative painting, the origins of the literati tradition, the flowering of landscape painting, and the ways the traditions of Chinese painting have been carried into the present day. The book, which concludes with a glossary of techniques and terms and a list of artists by dynasty, is an essential resource for all lovers of, or newcomers to, Chinese painting. Three Thousand Years of Chinese Painting is the inaugural volume in a new series, The Culture & Civilization of China, a joint publishing venture of Yale University Press and the American Council of Learned Societies with the China International Publishing Group in Beijing. The undertaking will ultimately result in the publication of more than seventy-five volumes on the visual arts, classical literature, language, and philosophy, as well as several comprehensive reference volumes. Published in association with Foreign Languages Press, Beijing
Call Number: Oversize 709.51 Y22t 1997
ISBN: 9780300094473
Publication Date: 1997
Where There Is No Name for Art by Bruce Hucko
"Art is a rich and ancient tradition among the Tewa Pueblo Indians of northern New Mexico, going back to the pictures their ancestors carved and painted on stone across the Southwest. Today Pueblo art is created in an environment in which traditional forms overlap with modern media. Nowhere is this fusion more evident than in the art of Pueblo children." "In Where There Is No Name for Art, photographer and "art coach" Bruce Hucko introduces us to some of his Tewa Pueblo students through their drawings, paintings, and words and through his photographs of them at work and at play. These children straddle two worlds. They participate in traditional dances and play video games. They paint airplanes and horses, basketball stars and sacred kivas. They also do their homework, help with the chores, and listen to rap music." "The children's vibrant, imaginative artwork is complemented by their humorous and thoughtful commentary on living in a changing culture. Presenting an insider's view of what it means to be growing up Pueblo today, the children talk about their families and their communities, share their feelings about their culture, and discuss the process of making art."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: 704.03974 H882w 1996
ISBN: 0933452446
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Folktales
Contemporary Chinese Short Stories by Zhang XianliangCall Number: 895.1 C761 1983
ISBN: 0835110761
Publication Date: 1983-12-01
Folktales of India by Brenda E. F. Beck (Editor); Peter J. Claus (Editor); Praphulladatta Goswami (Editor); Jawaharlal Handoo (Editor)
Bringing together nearly one hundred tales translated from fourteen languages, Folktales of India opens the vast narrative world of Indian folklore to readers of English. Beck includes oral tales collected from tribal areas, peasant groups, urban areas, and remote villages in north and south India, and the distinctive boundary regions of Kashmir, Assam, and Manipur. The tales in this collection emphasize universal human characteristics--truthfulness, modesty, loyalty, courage, generosity, and honesty. Each story is meant to be savored individually with special attention given to the great range of motifs presented and the many distinct narrative styles used. Folktales of India offers a superb anthology of India's bountiful narrative tradition. "This collection does an excellent job of representing India. . . . It is the type of book that can be enjoyed by all readers who love a well-told tale as well as by scholars of traditional narrative and scholars of India in general."--Hugh M. Flick, Jr., Asian Folklore Studies "The stories collected here are representative, rich in structural subtlety, and endowed with fresh earthy humor."--Kunal Chakraborti, Contributions to Indian Sociology
Call Number: 398.20954 F666b 1987
ISBN: 9780226040820
Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Tales of Old Japan by A. B. Mitford
Mitford’s famous collection of classic tales (the first to appear in English) covers an engrossing array of subjects: grisly accounts of revenge, knightly exploits, ghost stories, fairy tales, folklore, a fascinating eyewitness account of a hara-kiri ceremony, gripping narratives of vampires and samurai, Buddhist sermons, and the plots of four Noh plays.
A treasury, as well, of information on most aspects of Japanese life, with information on locales, customs, and characters, the illustrated volume delights as it entertains, chronicling acts of heroism, devotion, ruthlessness, and chivalry that illuminate the island nation's culture.
Call Number: 398.20952 R314t 1966
ISBN: 0804811601
Publication Date: 1966-05-01
Best-Loved Folktales of the World by Joanna Cole
This collection of over two hundred folk and fairy tales from all over the world is the only edition that encompasses all cultures. Arranged geographically by region--West and East Europe, British Isles, Scandinavia, and Northern Europe, Middle East, Asia, the Pacific, Africa, North America, the Carribean and West Indies, and Central and South America--and lovingly selected from the personal favorites of folklorists and writers, this book is a major anthology in its field. Gathered together in this wide-ranging collection are familiar classics like "Snow-White" and "Sleeping Beauty," and stories that equal them from all major cultures. Together they offer magic, adventure, laughter, reflection, vivid images, and a throng of colorful characters. More important, they offer insight into the oral traditions of different cultures and deal with universal human dilemmas that span differences of age, culture, and geography. Animal fables, proverbs, ghost stories, funny tales, and tales of enchantment provide a unique reading experience for all ages. A category index groups the tales by plot and character, e.g., humorous, supernatural, and "pourquoi" tales, married couples, enchanted sweethearts, etc. Like all great literature, these tales can be read with fascination on many levels, making Best-Loved Folktales of the World a classic and enduring collection.
Call Number: 398.2 C689b 1983
ISBN: 0385189494
Publication Date: 1983-08-09
Folktales Told Around the World by Richard M. Dorson
All the selections in Richard M. Dorson's Folktales Told around the World were recorded by expert collectors, and the majority of them are published here for the first time. The tales presented are told in Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Europe, North and South America, and Oceania. Unlike other collections derived in large part from literary texts, this volume meets the criteria of professional folklorists in assembling only authentic examples of folktales as they were orally told. Background information, notes on the narrators, and scholarly commentaries are provided to establish the folkloric character of the tales.
Call Number: 398.2 F666d 1975
ISBN: 9780226158747
Publication Date: 1978-11-15
A Treasury of Jewish Folklore by Nathan Ausubel
Selections from the richly varied lore of the Jewish people.
ISBN: 9780517502938
Publication Date: 1989
American Indian Myth and Legends by Richard Erodoes; Alfonso OrtizISBN: 0394507967
Publication Date: 1984
Folktales of Mexico by Américo Paredes (Foreword by)
A scholarly retelling of about 80 Mexican folktales.
Call Number: 398.20972 F666p 1970
ISBN: 0226645711
Publication Date: 1970
Poetry
Folk Poems from China's Minorities by Alley, Rewi (translator)Call Number: 808.81 A435s 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Selected Poems by Rasul GamzatovCall Number: 808.81 G194s 1974
Publication Date: 1974
An Anthology of Somali Poetry by Bogumil W. Andrzejewski; Sheila Andrzejewski
"This is a fascinating and unusual collection that deserves attention." ?Bloomsbury Review " . . . this anthology of poetry is a breath of fresh air. It provides the reader with the means of gaining a deeper insight into Somali life through what is to the Somalis their most important cultural form, namely, poetry." ?Bulletin of the School of Irental & African Studies "This affordable and beautifully produced book is a small jewel in the field of Somali studies, as it is the fruit of over forty years of dedicated linguistic and literary scholarship by one of the most thorough and accurate translators and analysts of Somali poetry, B. W. Andrzejewski." ?International Journal of African Historical Studies Somalia has been called "a nation of poets." This volume makes available in beautiful English translation the very best, and most universal, of Somali poetry, from the 19th century to the present. With appendixes covering the oral and written medium, the pronunciation of Somali words, alliteration and scansion, selected bibliography, and sources.
Call Number: 893.5 A577s 1993
ISBN: 9780253304636
Publication Date: 1993
Proverbs/Riddles
The Proverbs of Africa by Ryszard Pachocinski (Editor)Call Number: 398.996332 P116p 1996
ISBN: 1885118015
Publication Date: 1998-06-15
Scottish Proverbs by Colin S. K. Walker; Colin S. K. Walker
Proverbs, once described as 'the wisdom of many and the wit of one', offer unique insights the way of life and the social mores of past generations.This book features an introduction which explores the role of proverbs in Scottish culture and over 1,000 proverbs arranged in easily accessible A-Z format. Many have been commonly used for hundreds of years, but modern sayings are also included. The addition of a comprehensive glossary will help you fully appreciate these colourful and often humorous nuggets of wisdom and advice. Jock's a mislear'd imp, but ye're a rum deilJock may be mischievous, but he's well behaved by your standards The fish that sooms in a dub will aye taste o' mudYou can never change your upbringing When ye can suit yer shanks to my shoon, ye may speakDon't speak about me until you've been in a similar situation yourself
Call Number: 398.921 W176s 1996
ISBN: 9781780277295
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
A Dictionary of Riddles by Mark Bryant
Designed for adults, this collection contains nearly 1500 cryptic and entertaining riddles, drawn from sources throughout the world.
Call Number: 398.6 B915d 1990
ISBN: 0415026768
Publication Date: 1990-06-01
100 of the World's Most Beautiful Paintings
"100 of the most beautiful paintings by 100 of the greatest painters...Each full color masterpiece has been accompanied by an explanation of the painting and information about the artist...It is the purpose of this collection to give you a brief history of art from the Early Renaissance to the present and to give you a "grand tour" of the greatest art galleries in the world." -- back cover.
Art That Changed the World by
Get ready to embark on a unique guided tour throughout the history of art. Get to know more than 700 of the greatest artists, from Michelangelo and Monet to Damien Hirst and Picasso. Discover 2,500 of the world’s most iconic paintings, sculptures and other artwork that has shaken the art world through centuries and across continents.
Truly comprehensive in scope, Art That Changed the World presents the most remarkable art movements throughout history in chronological order and explains the social and cultural background of each period. Turning-point paintings that triggered or epitomised each artistic movement are identified and explained, against a backdrop of influences — from admired techniques of an earlier artist to the changes in society that enabled new directions in art.
Ethiopian Church Art by
"Ethiopian Church Art is the first book to examine the magnificent paintings of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church through the eyes of the individuals who make, commission, and sell them. It explores the social and cultural contexts in which religious paintings are created and used in Ethiopia by immersing the reader in the lives and work of painters, patrons, and purveyors of paintings that are found not only in today's churches but also souvenir shops. Devotional imagery has played a vital role in sustaining the spiritual well-being of Ethiopians for over fifteen hundred years. Accessible as illuminated manuscripts, wood panel icons, and on the walls of churches, narrative paintings have served as a vehicle for passing the core beliefs of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church from one generation to the next. They also have offered the faithful a tangible means for seeking spiritual intercession. Though its origins may be traced to Byzantine and Early Christian visual practice, it is a dynamic tradition that is uniquely Ethiopian, a tradition that continues to evolve as an expression of piety and, since the early twentieth century, as a source of artifacts for global souvenir and art markets. Ethiopian Church Art is a groundbreaking ethnography based on twenty-five years of research in the northern Ethiopian city at Aksum and in Addis Ababa working with over two hundred individuals. Sumptuously illustrated, Ethiopian Church Aft has been designed to engage and inform the ready both visually and textually." -- inside front cover.
Living with Art by
Not only a book about art, but also an artfully made book, it has earned a reptuation for elegance and the highest standards of quality. The text supports student efforts to develop an appreciation of art by clearly communicating the ways one can approach various forms of expression, offering a comprehensive introduction to the visual arts from several themes and purposes of art; the vocabulary of art; individual art media (painting, drawing, camera arts, sculpture, architecture, etc.); and the chronological history of art. The book is rich with illustrations drawn from a wide range of artistic cultures and time periods. The book is written in a warm, engaging style that one reviewer has characterized as "information being communicated by real flesh and blood, by someone who is a scholar but also has a sincere love of art".
The Metropolitan Museum of Art by
In line with best-selling The Louvre: All the Paintings (Bookscan 40,000), and Rizzoli's successful The Hermitage Collections and The Barnes Foundation: Masterworks, this title offers an exquisite tour, unique in its lavish illustration, scholarship, extent, and graceful packaging. This volume is the first large survey published in 30 years, and is the first large general survey of the Met's paintings collection. This monumental volume celebrates the greatest and most iconic paintings from the encyclopedic collections of The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, one of the largest, most important, and most beloved museums in the world.
Three Thousand Years of Chinese Painting by
From Neolithic painted petroglyphs, early paintings on silk, and landscapes by twelfth-century literati to the traditional handscrolls being produced today, Chinese painting has always had the power to enthrall. This magnificent book, written by a team of eminent international scholars, is the first to recount the history of Chinese painting over a span of some three thousand years. Drawing on museum collections, archives, and archaeological sites in China--including many resources never before available to Western scholars--as well as on collections in other countries, the authors present and analyze the very best examples of Chinese painting: more than 300 of them are reproduced here in color. Both accessible to the general reader and revelatory for the scholar, the book provides the most up-to-date and detailed history of China's pictorial art available today. In this book the authors rewrite the history of Chinese art wherever it is found--in caves, temples, or museum collections. They begin by grounding the Western reader in Chinese traditions and practices, showing in essence how to look at a Chinese painting. They then shed light on such topics as the development of classical and narrative painting, the origins of the literati tradition, the flowering of landscape painting, and the ways the traditions of Chinese painting have been carried into the present day. The book, which concludes with a glossary of techniques and terms and a list of artists by dynasty, is an essential resource for all lovers of, or newcomers to, Chinese painting. Three Thousand Years of Chinese Painting is the inaugural volume in a new series, The Culture & Civilization of China, a joint publishing venture of Yale University Press and the American Council of Learned Societies with the China International Publishing Group in Beijing. The undertaking will ultimately result in the publication of more than seventy-five volumes on the visual arts, classical literature, language, and philosophy, as well as several comprehensive reference volumes. Published in association with Foreign Languages Press, Beijing
Where There Is No Name for Art by
"Art is a rich and ancient tradition among the Tewa Pueblo Indians of northern New Mexico, going back to the pictures their ancestors carved and painted on stone across the Southwest. Today Pueblo art is created in an environment in which traditional forms overlap with modern media. Nowhere is this fusion more evident than in the art of Pueblo children." "In Where There Is No Name for Art, photographer and "art coach" Bruce Hucko introduces us to some of his Tewa Pueblo students through their drawings, paintings, and words and through his photographs of them at work and at play. These children straddle two worlds. They participate in traditional dances and play video games. They paint airplanes and horses, basketball stars and sacred kivas. They also do their homework, help with the chores, and listen to rap music." "The children's vibrant, imaginative artwork is complemented by their humorous and thoughtful commentary on living in a changing culture. Presenting an insider's view of what it means to be growing up Pueblo today, the children talk about their families and their communities, share their feelings about their culture, and discuss the process of making art."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Contemporary Chinese Short Stories by 
Folktales of India by
Bringing together nearly one hundred tales translated from fourteen languages, Folktales of India opens the vast narrative world of Indian folklore to readers of English. Beck includes oral tales collected from tribal areas, peasant groups, urban areas, and remote villages in north and south India, and the distinctive boundary regions of Kashmir, Assam, and Manipur. The tales in this collection emphasize universal human characteristics--truthfulness, modesty, loyalty, courage, generosity, and honesty. Each story is meant to be savored individually with special attention given to the great range of motifs presented and the many distinct narrative styles used. Folktales of India offers a superb anthology of India's bountiful narrative tradition. "This collection does an excellent job of representing India. . . . It is the type of book that can be enjoyed by all readers who love a well-told tale as well as by scholars of traditional narrative and scholars of India in general."--Hugh M. Flick, Jr., Asian Folklore Studies "The stories collected here are representative, rich in structural subtlety, and endowed with fresh earthy humor."--Kunal Chakraborti, Contributions to Indian Sociology
Best-Loved Folktales of the World by
This collection of over two hundred folk and fairy tales from all over the world is the only edition that encompasses all cultures. Arranged geographically by region--West and East Europe, British Isles, Scandinavia, and Northern Europe, Middle East, Asia, the Pacific, Africa, North America, the Carribean and West Indies, and Central and South America--and lovingly selected from the personal favorites of folklorists and writers, this book is a major anthology in its field. Gathered together in this wide-ranging collection are familiar classics like "Snow-White" and "Sleeping Beauty," and stories that equal them from all major cultures. Together they offer magic, adventure, laughter, reflection, vivid images, and a throng of colorful characters. More important, they offer insight into the oral traditions of different cultures and deal with universal human dilemmas that span differences of age, culture, and geography. Animal fables, proverbs, ghost stories, funny tales, and tales of enchantment provide a unique reading experience for all ages. A category index groups the tales by plot and character, e.g., humorous, supernatural, and "pourquoi" tales, married couples, enchanted sweethearts, etc. Like all great literature, these tales can be read with fascination on many levels, making Best-Loved Folktales of the World a classic and enduring collection.
Folktales Told Around the World by
All the selections in Richard M. Dorson's Folktales Told around the World were recorded by expert collectors, and the majority of them are published here for the first time. The tales presented are told in Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Europe, North and South America, and Oceania. Unlike other collections derived in large part from literary texts, this volume meets the criteria of professional folklorists in assembling only authentic examples of folktales as they were orally told. Background information, notes on the narrators, and scholarly commentaries are provided to establish the folkloric character of the tales.
A Treasury of Jewish Folklore by
Selections from the richly varied lore of the Jewish people.
American Indian Myth and Legends by 
An Anthology of Somali Poetry by
"This is a fascinating and unusual collection that deserves attention." ?Bloomsbury Review " . . . this anthology of poetry is a breath of fresh air. It provides the reader with the means of gaining a deeper insight into Somali life through what is to the Somalis their most important cultural form, namely, poetry." ?Bulletin of the School of Irental & African Studies "This affordable and beautifully produced book is a small jewel in the field of Somali studies, as it is the fruit of over forty years of dedicated linguistic and literary scholarship by one of the most thorough and accurate translators and analysts of Somali poetry, B. W. Andrzejewski." ?International Journal of African Historical Studies Somalia has been called "a nation of poets." This volume makes available in beautiful English translation the very best, and most universal, of Somali poetry, from the 19th century to the present. With appendixes covering the oral and written medium, the pronunciation of Somali words, alliteration and scansion, selected bibliography, and sources.
The Proverbs of Africa by 
Scottish Proverbs by
Proverbs, once described as 'the wisdom of many and the wit of one', offer unique insights the way of life and the social mores of past generations.This book features an introduction which explores the role of proverbs in Scottish culture and over 1,000 proverbs arranged in easily accessible A-Z format. Many have been commonly used for hundreds of years, but modern sayings are also included. The addition of a comprehensive glossary will help you fully appreciate these colourful and often humorous nuggets of wisdom and advice. Jock's a mislear'd imp, but ye're a rum deilJock may be mischievous, but he's well behaved by your standards The fish that sooms in a dub will aye taste o' mudYou can never change your upbringing When ye can suit yer shanks to my shoon, ye may speakDon't speak about me until you've been in a similar situation yourself
A Dictionary of Riddles by
Designed for adults, this collection contains nearly 1500 cryptic and entertaining riddles, drawn from sources throughout the world.
